Today. Monday, October 17, 2016. Today it has been exactly one hundred days since Alexander was born into Jesus’ arms. One hundred days since I felt his weight in my arms. One hundred days since we tried to squeeze a lifetime’s worth of love into six short hours.

Last night, while out walking with a friend and looking at the beautiful full moon on an unseasonably warm October evening here in Ohio, I felt the weight of one hundred days. It hit me like a ton of bricks. How is it that the days just keep going? How is it that life keeps moving forward and at the same time stopped? How is it that friendships grow and change? How is it that everything is the same and yet so so different?

One. Hundred. Days.

Today, our Alexander bear arrived from Molly Bears. Today. On the one hundredth day since holding Alexander in our arms, we can once again hold and feel his weight. Five pounds thirteen ounces.

It’s strange to feel his weight in my arms again. It brings such comfort and such sadness. He would have grown so much by now, in just three short months. But he is perfect.

Heavy.

Perfect.

Absolutely perfect.

And I will hold him today. And tomorrow. And for many days to come.

Thank you to Molly Bears and to all who donated in honor of Alexander for bringing our Alexander bear home to us.
Thank you to Molly Bears and to all who donated in honor of Alexander for bringing our Alexander bear home to us.
One thought on “One Hundred Days.

  1. I’m so sorry, I know how are the 100 day mark was for me. It was crazy that I was finally into triple digits and I just couldn’t believe it. I’m so thankful you were able to get you Molly bear in today. It had to be so nice to feel Alexander’s weight today and everyday from now on. Thinking of you today and sending you my love.
    By the way, I didn’t realize you were from Ohio, so am I!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

