Yesterday, we gathered with family and friends at Kettering Medical Center for the dedication of Alexander’s brick at the Garden of Hope and Remembrance. Scott and I started out the day slow and reflective, spending some time just checking in. And sitting in the hot tub – because nothing is quite as healing as water.

The ceremony at the hospital was beautiful. We were so thankful to be joined by so many people from our village. Parents, siblings, aunts and uncles, Alexander’s great grandmother, and some of our closest friends from here in Dayton. Our favorite nurse JA stopped down at the ceremony in the middle of a very busy day to give us hugs and check in with us. There was so much love for our sweet boy. There were lots of hugs, and tears. When they played the video, which showed the names of all the babies being remembered, I cried. I cried for Alexander. I cried for the family that had not one, but three babies being remembered. I cried for the name I recognized through a mutual friend. I cried for the overwhelming number of babies who have been lost just at our hospital, just in the three months since we lost Alexander.

I am so grateful to the Kettering Medical Foundation and to the donors who make The Garden of Hope and Remembrance available as such a beautiful and special place for grieving families. I am grateful for the family and friends who gathered with us yesterday. I am grateful for the opportunity to remember our sweet boy. I am grateful for the 50+ people who are already proudly wearing Alexander wristbands. I am grateful for the opportunities to spend time with family and friends throughout this heavy week.

Like most things in my life these days, I feel an intense mixture of sadness and hope, grief and gratitude, tears and laughter. Yesterday was no different. Today is no different. And, I’m sure tomorrow will be no different.

Alexander's brick in the Garden of Hope and Remembrance.
Alexander’s brick in the Garden of Hope and Remembrance. He’s got a perfect corner spot next to a bench that I’m sure we will visit regularly to remember our sweet boy.

 

So many roses from our sweet boy from so many people who love him.
So many roses from our sweet boy from so many people who love him.
2 thoughts on “Hope and Remembrance.

Leave a Reply

