Unforced Rhythms of Grace

I read an article the other day on the discipline of developing a rule or rhythm of life, and it has had me thinking about the upcoming season of Lent, about solitude, and about spiritual disciplines. The article poses this question: “What do rhythms look like in a world where everything from groceries to gas to the internet is available twenty-four hours every day?”

“Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me–watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.” Matthew 11:28-30 (The Message)

I have been consumed recently by thoughts of what Lent might look like this year. Of what God might be calling me to in a season where I am, quite honestly, feeling exhausted by the demands of ministry. And, after reading this article, it feels as though God is tugging at the corners of my heart and whispering, “Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me–watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace.

So, perhaps this year’s Lenten discipline looks like rhythm. And maybe developing a rhythm means letting go of some things–a form of fasting to make some sacred space for “the unforced rhythms of grace.”

So, as I continue to lean toward the start of Lent next week on Ash Wednesday, I am pondering…

  • What are the elements (if any) of my current rhythm?
  • What am I attracted to and why?
  • Where do I believe God is calling me to stretch and grow?
  • What in my life might be keeping me from living in the “unforced rhythms of grace”?
  • What kind of balance and rhythm do I need in my life?
Leave a Reply

