It’s time for an attitude adjustment. Not just the “I’m going to be more patient” or “I need to be more positive” kind. But the serious, down to the core of the matter, attitude adjustment.

Sometimes working in the church we can easily start to think that we are somehow more holy, or more more deserving, or more entitled than other people. Seriously. I don’t know when or how it happens, but at some point we get cynical, arrogant, and ignorant. And, I’m not talking about other people who work in the church.

I’m talking about me.

Maybe there are others, but lately it’s me.

I don’t know where it comes from, or how it sneaks up on me, but somehow it happens. And maybe it’s not only because I work in a church. Maybe it’s because I’m human. And it’s natural to think of myself first. After all, isn’t that what the world teaches me to do?

I read an interesting tweet this morning as I was browsing through my twitter feed:

Seriously. Read those words again. If we were half as concerned about our own sin as we are everyone else’s sin there would be far less sin in the church.

If I were half as concerned with my own failures.

If I were half as concerned with my own selfishness.

If I were half as concerned with my own spelling and grammar flubs in e-mails.

If I were half as concerned with my own inabilities to manage time or say no.

If I were half as concerned with my own unwillingness to “unplug”.

The list goes on.

There’s this part of Jesus’ famous Sermon on the Mount in Matthew 7, where he talks about this very thing. Jesus says:

“Do not judge, or you too will be judged. For in the same way you judge others, you will be judged, and with the measure you use, it will be measured to you. Why do you look at the speck of sawdust in your brother’s eye and pay no attention to the plank kin your own eye? How can you say to your brother ‘Let me take the speck out of your eye,’ when all the time there is a plank in your own eye? You hypocrite, first take the plank out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to remove the speck from your brother’s eye.”

Specks and planks. Jealousy and hatred. Fear and failure. Vanity and selfishness.

It’s time to stop judging and start loving recklessly.

It’s time to stop pointing out other’s failures and start seeking God’s radically transforming grace in our own lives.

It’s time to stop privately judging and start publicly encouraging and affirming.

It’s time to stop letting fear win. Because you know what?

Love wins and love does.

Leave a Reply

