As I woke up this morning for the second time, an hour after my planned alarm clock had gone off, the first words out of my mouth were: “Why have I been so tired the past few days?!”

It’s not as though I had a busier-than-normal youth ministry weekend. In fact, most of the programming and youth ministry stuff I had on my plate this weekend was pretty laid back: a Friday night movie night with a handful of high schoolers, a bake sale fundraiser Sunday morning, and then we had a student over in the afternoon who spent most of the time working outside and playing video games with my husband while I napped. But for probably the past week or so, since we got back from our rafting trip, I have felt just plain exhausted.

As I look back and reflect on that tiredness, I can see a few contributing factors… some things I’m going to be trying to remedy in the coming week to get back to feeling normal and less tired:

  • Water. When Scott and I got really serious about our weight loss goals back in February, I got really serious about drinking water. For a while, I was drinking only water–and plenty of it. I’ve noticed in the past few weeks that I’ve often traded in my water bottle for a can of Coke Zero. I guess old habits can change, but they die hard. Time to dig that water bottle back out from under the seat of my car and get back on the 8 glasses a day train.
  • Bedtime. For the past few weeks, my bedtime has slowly crept closer and closer back to midnight. When I was going to bed between 10 and 10:30 I had no problem waking up with my alarm in the morning. But as little as an extra hour of TV time in the evening makes waking up in the morning almost impossible for me. Time to dial back the screen time to get back into the earlier bedtime habit.
  • Exercise. If I look back about 3 or 4 weeks ago, here’s what my workout routine was looking like: Jillian Michaels 30-Day Shred 2-3 times per week, ZUMBA! on Tuesdays and Thursdays, several walks during the week, plus a bike ride or two. In the past couple of weeks, I’ve missed several ZUMBA! classes for other commitments, completely slacked on the 30-Day Shred, and my walking/biking has dwindled to Menards Walking. No wonder I feel so sluggish! Time to get it back together in the workout category and burn some calories!

There are probably some additional contributing factors–like the fact that even though I’m staying within my calorie allotment for the day, my choices haven’t been as healthy and there have been a few more “cheat days” than there used to be. Or the fact that I’ve chosen napping over yard work or working out. It’s time to jump back on the train and get serious about those Phase 3 goals I set a few weeks ago. After all, we’re halfway through the phase–and there is still plenty of work to do.

One thought on “Tired.

Leave a Reply

