I am a self proclaimed productivity junkie.

If there’s a strategy out there or an app that promises the ability to get more done with more efficiency, chances are I’ve tried it. And not only tried it, but I’ve spent meticulous hours perfecting it… getting all of my to do list items transferred over to the new system, building templates and getting things set up. And then, within a few weeks, it usually falls apart. So, I try something new. I spend meticulous hours perfecting it, and, well… the cycle continues.

It seems to be an endless black hole–I’ve Remembered the Milk, tried Teux Deux more things in a day, used iOS RemindersWunderlisted my world, strived to practice Inbox Zero e-mail management, and spent hours perfecting the organization of my Evernote notebook stacks. I’ve even dabbled in Getting Things DoneEventually, I get overwhelmed. Or bored. Then, I move on to the next task management, productivity perfecting wonder app.

Somehow, I don’t think that’s how productivity is intended, how strategies succeed, or how things actually get done.

Some days, I just feel like I’m being sucked into a black hole of productivity myths.

Other days, I feel like I have a system that is actually working.

And then, back to the black hole.

The good news is: I’m learning.

I’ve actually experienced a trend lately of actually getting things done. Of being more productive–both in the office and at home. I’m not sure whether there’s an actual “system” that’s finally stuck, or whether I’ve just gotten better at bouncing between systems.

Question: What systems or strategies do you use to get things done? Do you have a go to app for task management? Do you jot things down longhand on sticky notes and hang them everywhere? What works for you? And, perhaps more importantly, what doesn’t work for you?

3 thoughts on “The Black Hole of Productivity

  1. I’m old fashioned – still use a paper to do list. Mostly for work with different boxes for different areas and then a box for personal things to do. I start every Monday going through my email and making my to do list for the week. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

