I’m not a fan of failure. Fortunately, I would say that despite what my brain is trying to tell me right now, I know in my heart that this is not a post about failure.

You may remember that at the start of this year, I jumped into this grand goal-setting, new years resolution crushing plan for 2013 called 52×7 thanks to inspiration from one of my favorite bloggers, Jon Acuff. The plan is simple: 365 days breaks down pretty nicely into seven 52-day chunks, and anyone can do anything for 52 days. So, we looked at different categories, or areas of life, and set one or two goals in each of those categories, with the plan of carrying out those goals for 52 days. At the end of 52 days, we’ll keep the ones that worked well and throw out or adjust those that, well, didn’t work. Easy enough, right?

Well, here we are, at the true test… the end of Phase One. Tomorrow will start the next 52-day chunk of 2013. So, it’s time to take a look at the goals I set back on January 2nd, evaluate what worked and what didn’t work, and begin a new set of adjusted goals tomorrow morning.

So, how did it go? Here’s the general trend I can point out, before we even get into the actual goals themselves. Scott and I moved into our new house right in the middle of this phase. And, right before that, I spent a few days in California for a conference. Those two things combined seemed to throw me off track for a good 2-3 weeks on many of my goals. My focus was shifted elsewhere, and though it wasn’t bad and wasn’t a deal-breaker on the whole thing… it did mess with my mojo a little bit. I’m excited to start this next phase with no anticipated major life changes taking place in the next 52 days. 

Let’s take a look at those goals I set: If you want to see the simplified list, check out the original Phase One Start post. Here are my thoughts on those goals over the past 52 days, though.

Financial: Finish the homebuying process. Done and done. This one was going to really take care of itself, but, hey. We did it! We are officially homeowners (and grownups)! This really took a lot of my attention and energy from about January 29-February 10.

Physical: Work out at least three days every week. I’m not sure that this was quantitatively accomplished in that I can’t say that I for sure worked out an average of three days a week. However, for the month of January I was rocking the 200 Situps Challenge every other day, and since our church just started offering Zumba classes last week, I’ve added that to my routine 1-2 times a week. So, even if I didn’t work out three days a week, I definitely stepped it up from what I had been doing previously doing… which was nothing.

Physical: Lose 10 lbs in the 52 days.This was a pretty lofty goal for me. I had not attempted any sort of intentional weight loss in a looong time. Well, maybe not ever. So, it was a challenge. And even though I, again, didn’t accomplish this goal quantitatively, here’s what did happen: I stopped drinking soda almost completely, I started drinking a whole lot more water, I started eating healthy and much more intentionally, and I generally started to develop a much healthier lifestyle. So, even if the scale doesn’t read 10 lbs less today than it did on January 2nd, I would still consider this goal a major success, and one I will definitely continue to pursue whether adjusted or not.

Social: Call two friends just to catch up. I made a few attempts at this, though it was not one of the higher on my list with so much other stuff going on. I did have the fantastic opportunity to catch up with my good friend Erin, though… plus we had some friends come and stay with us for a weekend in January before we moved. So, even if it didn’t play out exactly as planned (partially because some of my friends never pick up their phones!), there was still plenty of social interaction going on during this phase!

Mental: Read at least two books.sort of accomplished this one. I read most of John Roberto’s Faith Formation 2020 before hearing him speak both at the ELCA Youth Ministry Network Extravaganza and at a LOMO Board Retreat, and I read bits and pieces of Kenda Creasy Dean’s Almost Christian and participated in weekly discussion on the book. I didn’t read either in its entirety, but I learned a TON from both of them.

Career: Attend the ELCA Youth Ministry Network Extravaganza in Anaheim, CA. Done! This conference was one that I will definitely attend again–lots of new youth ministry friends, and so much learning that I’m still processing it all a month later!

Career: Kick off Summer Trips Registration with a promotions plan and timeline. This one took longer to get the ball rolling than I anticipated. We are “officially” planning to kick off registration on March 1st (a little later than I would have liked), and while the ball is definitely rolling on this one, it didn’t happen on the timeline that I would have hoped for.

Family: Transition into life in our new house. This has definitely been accomplished. We are in, and we are loving it! There are still plenty of boxes to unpack and sort through, but our primary living spaces are pretty settled at this point.

Family: Walk the dog at least once a week in addition to regular playtime. I would say that this one averaged out. There were several weeks where Hiro and I walked more than once, and a few weeks where we didn’t make it out due to weather and busy schedules. But, I definitely walked him more in the last 52 days than I had previously.

Spiritual: Read the first 52 days of the One Year Bible plan. This one was a struggle for me, but as of about 9:15am this morning (after reading 8 days to catch up!), this one did get completely accomplished. I think I’ll continue this one… it’s a good habit, and even though there were some weeks where I really slacked off, I was able to pick up the slack in other places.

So, there it is. The summary of my first 52X7 Phase for 2013. Not too shabby, if I do say so myself. I definitely feel like my life has been enriched by the process, and I look forward to leaning deeper into life in the next phase starting tomorrow. Stay tuned for the next set of goals!

2 thoughts on “52X7: Phase One Summary

Leave a Reply

