Friday Five: April 27, 2012

Random thoughts from this week:

  1. I think I’m going to try blogging more regularly again. This thing always seems to go in seasons for me… sort of a cycle of “hey, I’m gonna blog every day!” to “oh, crap. I forgot about my blog for the last 3 months.” Maybe I can find a healthy balance between the two. There’s a lot in my brain that maybe, just maybe, is worth sharing with the world.
  2. I’ve been soaking up some wisdom from Henri Nouwen recently with a leisurely read through his book Here and Now. If I had to choose a handful of writers who have served as my spiritual directors over the years, Nouwen is one of them. His words cut to the soul, and speak into my life exactly what I need to hear. It’s just plain good.
  3. A few weeks back, I was inspired by some of what Jon Acuff is doing in his 2012 project called “Finish Year.” While the whole New Years’ Resolutions thing didn’t really happen for me this year, and I wasn’t quite ready to make a list of 5 or 6 things (maybe this year is my “Lazy Year”)–but I’ve been really intrigued by one of Jon’s projects for the year. He is hand writing the book of Proverbs into a Moleskine notebook. So, a few weeks ago I started working my way through the book of Psalms. Hand written. Sometimes I sit down and write through 4 or 5 in a day, sometimes I’m lucky if I get through a couple in a week. But it’s been a really cool spiritual discipline. I’m excited to see the ways that God continues to reveal himself through this.
  4. Jumping back to #2 and speaking of Nouwen, these words are really hitting home from my reading today: “I am constantly puzzled by my eagerness to get something done, to see someone, to finish some job, while I am fully aware that within a month or even a week I will have completely forgotten what it was that seemed so urgent… Why is it so difficult to be still and quiet and let God speak to me about the meaning of my life? Is it because I don’t trust God? Is it because I don’t know God? Is it because I wonder if God really is there for me? Is it because I am afraid of God? Is it because everything else is more real for me than God?” (Here and Now, pp. 100-101)
  5. In less than 2 hours I’m heading over to Interfaith Hospitality Network of Greene County with a small group of middle school youth to hang out with, serve dinner to, and be Jesus for, a group of families who are temporarily homeless. We’re going back again tomorrow (with another group of students) to serve another meal and to pass out some homemade quilts to the kids from the quilting ladies at our church. There’s never a better time for us to love Jesus by serving others than now.
One thought on “Friday Five: April 27, 2012

  1. I support the return to blogging… I like the “Finish Year” thing – might have to try that when I’m done w/ my 1.5-year read through of the Bible. And that Nouwen quote – awesome. 🙂 Love you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

