What A Difference a Year Makes

One year.
355 days.
525,600 minutes.

(Oh, great… now I’m going to have Seasons of Love stuck in my head for the rest of the time I am trying to write this post.)

I posted this status over on Facebook this morning:

One year ago, I was in the middle of one of the most crazy, overwhelming weeks of my life. Who would have guessed that God had such a wonderfully perfect plan up his sleeve? What a difference a year can make!

I spent a little bit of time today looking back at the absolute chaos I was living in a year ago. I smack dab in the middle of four job interviews with four different churches in four different states that were all happening in the course of about two weeks’ time. I was getting used to living out of a suitcase and spending more hours on the road (or in the air) than on the ground. I joked with family and close friends about feeling a little bit like Lebron James (though hopefully not quite as much of a dip wad).

I was confused.
I was praying A LOT.
I had absolutely no idea what God was up to.

Oh, and in the midst of all of that, I was trying to get a little bit of a jump start on reading for my final quarter of seminary classes before graduation (okay, maybe more like battling a serious case of senioritis and non-motivation).

And, if I’m being completely honest, I was kind of a wreck.

Looking back, I can honestly say that I barely remember the chaos of those days. I remember little bits here and there, but now that I know how it all plays out in the end, I can be thankful for everything that God taught me, and all the experiences that he used to mold and shape me in those chaotic weeks.

And you know what, in the end God’s plan was bigger than my plan. God’s will was far more perfect and beautiful than anything I could have imagine. I can hardly believe that when I started out my job search last January I wasn’t even going to consider applying for the position I’m in now, just because it was in Ohio.

I wanted an adventure.

And you know what? God gave me one. The perfect one.

The beauty of this journey is looking back to see the hand of God guiding us to the exact place where he wanted us to be. As difficult as it seemed in those two weeks, one year ago today, I wouldn’t trade any second for the world.

Leave a Reply

