Friday Five: November 18, 2011

Random thoughts from this week:
  1. Today Regis Philbin’s last day on Live With Regis and Kelly. I started watching LIVE fairly regularly back in the days when I was serving at Grace Lutheran in Fremont. It was like having friends in a time when I was struggling with life in a new city. Today’s Farewell to Regis episode was absolutely perfect. And, I might have cried.
  2. This Wednesday marked five months since my first official day serving at Epiphany. I plan to do some more reflection next month when we hit six months, but it was really cool this week to spend some time looking back at the five months since Scott and I moved down here to Dayton to start this new adventure.
  3. So, even though Scott normally works from home, he does occasionally (about once a month) have to travel up to Cleveland for work-related responsibilities. He’s been gone this week working on a big installation project with the company, and I’ve been holding down the fort here in Dayton. It’s been strangely reminiscent of the year I spent in Fremont living alone in that tiny upstairs Hobbit-hole of an apartment (though the digs are nicer now). I put in some extra time at the office, enjoyed having control over the remote, and re-learned how to cook for one. It hasn’t been totally awful, but I’m glad he comes back today.
  4. Last weekend while at the Senior High Retreat at Camp Mowana, I got a phone call from one of my former youth letting me know that one of the now young adult members of my former church was in the ICU battling for her life and facing a long journey of recovery. It was one of those phone calls you hope to never receive in youth ministry. I know it’s been a long week for Hayley and her family, and it’s going to be a long long road ahead, but I have been incredibly encouraged by the army of people lifting her up in prayer and by the optimism and faith of her mother.
  5. I’ve been really reminded this week about the incredible gift that is God’s grace. I’m thankful for that gift this week.
Leave a Reply

