Friday Five: May 27, 2011

Random thoughts from this week:

  1. I am currently in the middle of my last seminary paper–an exegetical study of Hebrews 3:1-6 (see why I saved it for last?). Let me tell you, I don’t think I have ever had a more difficult time starting, working on, and finishing a paper. Call it senioritis if you want. All I can say is, it better get done soon… I’m running out of steam, and graduation is a week from tomorrow!
  2. I had coffee yesterday morning with a friend and colleague in youth ministry and was, as always, blessed by our time together. Seriously, if you’re in youth ministry and don’t regularly hang out with other youth ministry folks, start. Today. My colleagues in youth ministry at other churches are life savers, and some of my most valuable friends.
  3. Speaking of blessings, let me just say, that I am am blessed beyond measure by the church to which I will be moving in a few weeks. God has made it SO clear in the past few weeks that this is the place to which He is calling me, and I’m really excited to see what He has in store.
  4. This tweet has been rolling around in my head: “@chrispeters82: Funny, the meaningful things people say when you’re leaving that they never said when they assumed you’d stick around.” It’s kind of funny how that works, huh? What do you think it would take to start a trend of affirming people in meaningful ways regardless of the immanency of departure?
  5. This weekend is our annual Memorial Day Weekend family camping trip. We’re off to a good start with flash flood warnings and a cresting river, and we’ll definitely miss Kristen this weekend, but I’m looking forward to some R & R before the coming insanity of the next few weeks. Even though Scott and I will be heading home for the night Saturday to hang out with the youth at PLC Sunday morning, most of the weekend will be spent away from internet, 3G service, e-mail, etc. In fact, by the time this post appears on the blog on Friday morning (I’m writing this on Thursday so it’ll post while I’m gone), I’ll already be enjoying the nature and unpluggedness (oh, and working on that last paper). 🙂 Enjoy the weekend, everyone!
Leave a Reply

