Friday Five: May 20, 2011

Random thoughts from this week:

  1. I am SO blessed to have the most unlikely of soul friends in my life. This week, I had the pleasure of sharing breakfast and a couple hours of quality time with my dear friend Carolyn. Back in 2004, when Carolyn was in 6th grade,  I was her camp counselor. Over the years we have kept in touch, and that relationship has turned into one of great value. God is doing some incredible things through that girl, and I am blessed that our paths have become so intertwined. God is good.
  2. Apparently, according to Family Radio, Jesus is coming back tomorrow, on May 21, 2011. I’m skeptical (that may be an understatement). Especially since Harold Camping, the man behind the whole campaign, originally predicted that the rapture would happen in September of 1994. People have been predicting the second coming since the resurrection, and so far 100% of those predictions have been wrong. I must say, though, I found this interview with the president of Family Radio to be very interesting. It’s amazing what kinds of crazy conclusions people can come to when they rip scripture out of its context.
  3. [Warning: Pet Peeve Rant] So, as a person in youth ministry (and really, as a person in general–you know, since I do have a life outside of youth ministry), one of my biggest pet peeves is when people use the excuse of not having time for something–an event, a get together, a Bible Study, a mission trip, etc. In youth ministry, I usually get those excuses from students who say “sorry I can’t be there, I have to work.” I was in high school once, and for a while in high school I was working not one, but two part-time jobs. And you know what? I still had time to be involved in my church. I still had time for marching band, jazz band, and concert band. I still had time for my boyfriend. Now, I don’t want to place expectations on anyone, but I do strongly believe, as I posted on Facebook earlier this week, that time is not a commodity to be stolen, but a gift to be given. You will always have time for the things and people that you make time for.
  4. The transition process must be causing me some subconscious stress. I’ve been having some weird dreams involving people, places, and situations from my previous church, my current church, and the church I’m going to in Dayton. These dreams do not make sense, and I often wake up amused. It does make me wonder, though…
  5. I graduate in 15 days. Holy crap. (Am I allowed to say that on my youth ministry blog?) Working on finishing up final papers this weekend. What am I going to do when I don’t have homework anymore?
Leave a Reply

