Friday Five: April 29, 2011

Random thoughts from this week:

  1. I got a text message from one of my youth group kids last night who heard the news through the grapevine that I am leaving to take another call after graduation. I’m really sad that she didn’t hear it from me first. But I am so thankful and blessed by the encouragement she offered. I love working with high school youth. They’re honest. They’re authentic. And they give me hope for the future.
  2. So, there was a royal wedding today, apparently. I’m not really up on all the hype over William & Kate’s big day, and I’m kind of sad that the royal wedding hype trumped the tragic deadly tornados in Alabama on the morning news.
  3. Since the touch screen on my phone went on the fritz, I ordered an iPhone 4 to replace it. It should get here today, and I’m really pumped to finally have a smart phone. Does that make me materialistic? Or just a nerd?
  4. I have officially survived the last midterms week of my seminary career. Five weeks to go! I picked up my cap and gown this week. It’s really happening.
  5. I actually watched some TV this week (as in, I had control of the remote for a couple hours). Got to catch a couple episodes of Extreme Couponing, and Michael Scott’s final episode of The Office. It’s not very often that I intentionally watch TV (I spend way more time in front of the computer than I do watching TV). In a nutshell (and in the words of my friend Ryan): Extreme Couponers should work for food banks. Michael Scott’s farewell was perfect.
Leave a Reply

