Friday Five: April 22, 2011

Five random thoughts on this Friday morning. Here’s a little peek into my world this week:

  1. Today is Good Friday. It is probably the first Good Friday in years that I am not going to be in a church service. It feels weird, but even so, I feel like I’ve been processing through death a lot this week after my step-cousin and her three children were murdered by her husband in a murder-suicide early Saturday morning. Even though I didn’t know Dawn all that well, and even though I wasn’t able to make it to the viewing or memorial services, the reality of death and brokenness has been lingering in these days. These Holy Days are days of tension. Days in which we are forced to live in the painful reality of sacrifice, death and suffering. Without death, there can be no resurrection.
  2. Yesterday, as I drove to Ashland for class, my brain was SO full of random thoughts, questions, and ideas that when I got to Ashland I hardly remembered how I even got there. Needless to say, this season of transition has been just a little overwhelming.
  3. There’s some interesting conversation going on over in Tim Schmoyer’s world about the Youth Ministry Hiring Process. Having just gone through the process with several different churches, I am intrigued by Tim’s thoughts (and even contributed to the discussion). Along those lines, I’m thinking I might do a mini-series of posts on my experiences with interviewing with several churches at the same time, from the perspective of the interviewee as opposed to the perspective of the congregation.
  4. I’ve been feeling really fat lately. Too much fast food. Too little exercise. I keep saying that things will change once I’m done with school and we move, but I’m thinking that maybe there are things I could start doing now. Last night I ordered water with my dinner instead of a Coke. Small steps, eh?
  5. A wise friend of mine tweeted these words last week, and they’ve stuck with me ever since: “When God is about to reposition your life, know that the devil will begin to attack” (via @TexasTerp4Him). True words indeed in this season of repositioning.
2 thoughts on “Friday Five: April 22, 2011

  1. For what it’s worth, Isaiah 25:8 says “…he will swallow up death forever. The Sovereign Lord will wipe away the tears from all faces;…”

    Like

Leave a Reply

