God is Doing a Work in Me

I have been a fan of Sara Groves‘ music for a long time.  I love it when I can listen to an artist’s music and feel like that person has been following me around, writing about my life.  This week, her song “Help Me Be New” is echoing exactly what is going on in my life lately.

This week I’ve been surprised by grace.  And joy.  It’s beautiful.  Really.

I’m hoping that as time goes on I’ll be able to share more of what God’s up to.  But for now, take a listen to this song, and spend some time living with me in the lyrics:

God is doing a work in me
He’s walking through my rooms and halls
Checking every corner
Tearing down the unsafe walls and letting in the light
And I am working hard to clean my house and set it straight
Not let pride get in the way
To catch an eternal vision of what I am to become

Will you help me be new?
Will you hold me to the promises that I have made?
Will you let me be new?
Forgive my old self and my old mistakes?

It seems easier living out my life in Christ for those who do not know me
To hide the thorn stuck in my side
And all my secret faults
But you know me well and it’s you I want the most to see
Recognize the changes
A word from you empowers me to press on for my goal

Will you help me be new?
Will you hold me to the promises that I have made?
Will you let me be new?
Forgive my old self and my old mistakes?

When I feel condemned to live my old life
Remind me I’ve been given a new life in Christ

Will you help me be new?
Well you hold me to the promises that I have made?
Will you let me be new?
Forgive my old self and my old mistakes?

Will you?
You know me well

4 thoughts on “God is Doing a Work in Me

  1. I have always loved this song. It’s always a good reminder to me that God is always working on/in us and we are always growing and changing and becoming new. I love that. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

