A Fresh Start [Take 2]

This morning, youth ministry leader Doug Fields launched his brand new blog with a post soberly titled: “New Year’s Day… It Triggers My Feelings of Failure.” He begins with these reality-check producing words:

I know all the arguments for January 1 being a day of new beginnings, do-overs, and fresh starts. New Years Day makes a very logical starting point for habits, goals, and commitments. But, for me, this global day of change triggers a “not again” feeling within because of so many past experiences with goals and the failures that follow.

As I looked back at my blog posts from the past couple of years, I see a familiar pattern – it almost feels like blogging has lost the stick-with-it-ness that it used to have for me and has become another lofty goal lost in the sea of busy-ness and routine that seems to edge out all of those new year’s resolutions that I make every year.  And yet, here I am, finding myself in the exact same place as one year ago.  I’d like to give it another go around, if people will humor me, and to give this whole blogging thing another go around.

There’s no telling how long this may last this year, as it’s already looking to be a crazy year with a lot of potential life changes.  But why not take a crack at it, right?

Here we go, 2011.  Bring it on.

2 thoughts on “A Fresh Start [Take 2]

  1. Erin, I’m with you on this. I had grand plans for my 25 lessons learned in my 25th year, and life took over, in a good, healing way. Commitment to my blogging is a goal this year. Best to you in 2011! Can’t wait to see what you have to share with us!

    Like

Leave a Reply

