Overheard in a Coffee Shop [Part 2]

The voice of God.  Seriously, the voice of God.

Let me explain.  I’ve been sitting here at Caribou Coffee for almost 5 hours now (this seemed like a good time to take a brief reprise from all the reading), and I must say – God has met me in this place today.

When I arrived here this morning, I was exposed to brokenness – to humanity in its raw and broken form.  There was a woman sitting nearby (a woman who I’ve seen here before, another of the regulars) who regularly spends her time in the coffee shop talking to various people on her cell phone.  This is sometimes very annoying and distracting for me, but today I was drawn in.

Once again, I don’t know the extent of the situation, since all I have to go from are bits and pieces of one sided telephone conversations that I captured between reading assignments.  However, I can say this.  This woman is experiencing brokenness – something related to a romantic relationship, but I sensed God telling me that her brokenness ran much deeper than the “obvious” situation.  My heart broke for her situation, and though I didn’t muster up the courage to talk to her and inquire to any more depth (this has been a struggle for me in the past as well), I found myself praying for her – for restoration, for healing, and for hope.

Then, this afternoon, I was doing some reading & journaling for a class that I am taking this quarter called Person in Ministry.  Just this past Tuesday we had a discussion in class about what it might mean to “become Christ possessed” and today I was reading out of Dr. Terry Wardle’s book, Outrageous Love Transforming Power.  As I finished the first chapter, which gives an introduction to the idea of the “potential for Christ-likeness” inside every human soul, the following song came on over the coffee house system:

How I wish you could see your potential
The potential of you and me
It’s like a book elegantly bound
But in a language that you can’t read just yet

You gotta spend some time, love
You gotta spend some time with me
And I know that you’ll find love
I will possess your heart

Coincidence?  I think not.  I firmly believe that God can speak to us in any way he wants, and through any means which He knows will capture our attention and take hold of our heart strings.  For me, music does it.  And this did it.

So, today in a coffee shop I overheard the voice of God.  True story.

One thought on “Overheard in a Coffee Shop [Part 2]

  1. Very powerful story Erin. I agree that God does speak to us in a variety of ways – and some that are most unexpected. He once spoke to me in a bar through a guy wearing a black t-shirt that read “What Would Satan Do?” that had 3 upside down crosses in the artwork. That was the catalyst for a lot of prayer for me (and eventually my song “The Black T-Shirt Guy”) because I was too timid to talk to him and tell him that Jesus loved him no matter what.

    Thanks for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

