Holding Fast

Collect for the Sunday Closest to September 21, from The Book of Common Prayer (1979):

Grant us, Lord, not to be anxious about earthly things, but to love things heavenly; and even now, while we are placed among things which are passing away, to hold fast to those that shall endure; through Jesus Christ our Lord, who lives and reigns with you and the Holy Spirit, one God, forever and ever. Amen.

There is much on my mind and in my heart these days, and while I feel I have much to process, I’m not sure this is the right forum for it at this time.  Essentially, I am finding myself placed among things which are passing away, and I am clinging to every hope that I may hold fast to those things which shall endure.

As the academic quarter comes to a quick end, and the church is in the midst of one of the “busiest” times of the church year, I am trying ever so desperately to find time to seek God and His will in a variety of messes and situations.  This prayer from The Book of Common Prayer, shared in class this morning is helping me to grasp on to that which God desires; that is, that in the midst of uncertainty and change I may continue to hold fast to that which endures forever and ever.

Leave a Reply

