Doing & Being

I’m writing this afternoon from one of my favorite spots in Mayfield: Caribou Coffee.  As I’m writing this, I have a number of large projects sort of looming over my head for school – papers to write, a web site to design, a prayer labyrinth to create, and lots of reading to catch up on.

At the same time, we are about to head into what is, for many, one of the busiest and most hectic times of the year – the Christmas shopping season.  It seems like there is so much that needs to be done.  All I can think about is being productive: doing this, doing that, doing the next thing.

And then I stop, and I remember.

This Sunday is the first Sunday of Advent – a time of preparation, a time of reflection, and a time of being ready for the coming of the Christ child.  With all this doing that needs to happen in the next few weeks, where will I find and make time in this season of Advent to just be?

The work needs to get done, but there is much “heart work” to be done as well.

How do you find time for the reflection of Advent in the midst of such a busy season?

Leave a Reply

